Kyrgyzstan Parliamentary Elections 2010 Final Results

The official final results of the Kyrgyzstan parliamentary elections 2010 are available from the Central Elections Commission in Kyrgyzstan. According to their data, 1’679’538 – or 55.9% – or the eligible voters have cast their vote and the count is as follows (I’ll only list the five parties with more than 5% of the popular vote since only they make it into the parliament. The full list – in Russian – is available here):
Votes: 266’923
Percent: 8,88
Votes: 241’528
Percent: 8,04
Votes: 232’682
Percent: 7,74
Votes: 217’601
Percent: 7,24
Votes: 168’218
Percent: 5,6
In terms of seats in the Jogorku Kenesh this would give – according to my calculation (the total number of seats is 120):
Ata-Shurt: 28
SDPK: 26
Ar-Namys: 25
Since the absolute majority is 61, at least three parties are needed to form a viable government. Even the three parties with the least seats would be able to form a government and the three parties with the most seats would fall short of the two-thirds majority by one vote.
Please note, that this is my calculation of the attribution of seats, the official figures may be different.

Kyrgyzstan Parliamentary Elections 2010 Results

Preliminary results of the parliamentary elections in Kyrgyzstan are, according to AKIPress, which bases its analysis on data from “Shailoo”, the state election system, the situation looks as follows:

Results from 2001 (85.77%) of the 2333 polling stations indicates the following distribution of seats in the 120 seat Kyrgyz parliament (named Shogorkoo Kenesh):

  1. Ata Shurt – 29 seats;
  2. SDPK – 26 seats;
  3. Ar-Namys – 23 seats;
  4. Respublika – 23 seats;
  5. Ata Meken – 19 seats.

It seems like at least three parties are necessary to form a government and that all combinations of three or more are mathematically possible to arrive at an absolute majority.

Kyrgyzstan Elections Going Smoothly

According to AKIPress elections are going smoothly and up to 11:00 local time around 11% of voters eligible to vote hat already voted. In additions, the vote was going smoothly in all districts. As previously announced by the Kyrgyz government, there will be no official exit poll be held this year. The poll’s 2289 poll stations had opened at 8:00 local time to let the 2’836’508 voters vote.